Super Math Teacher

The thoughts of a middle school math teacher

The final week of school

on June 15, 2021

This week is the last week of school. It has been an extremely long year. ISL has been virtual for grades 7-12 since October 16, 2020. That means that students and teachers were 100% online for most of the year. Needless to say, as the year progressed, there were fewer students with their cameras on and more black boxes that I was talking with.

Yesterday and today were class days. So, since it was the last day of classes in each of my classes, we played a fun Kahoot. Just to let the kids have some fun. Normally, the last class of the year I have students complete the 100 word word search (with no list of words). Grades are finished and submitted. Basically, I am just passing the time with the kids.

Tomorrow is the last “outdoor lesson” My students will be at school for a couple of hours. I am predicting that only about 4 will show up. Although they do get their yearbooks tomorrow. Maybe that will motivate them to come. They also have to finish turning in materials (not for my class). Even though my students will be there for a couple of hours, I’ll be there all day. I’ll be doing my end of year stuff.

Thursday the entire grade level can finally be together in one outdoor session. So I will have the opportunity to see my students one last time. It will be interesting to see who comes. I have a feeling that many will not. Of course, they do get to sign yearbooks and participate in some field day like activities. Then Friday is a virtual half day. I think I can make it!

With all the craziness of the year, I am glad that I oved to Latvia, even if was in the middle of a global pandemic. Things are starting to improve in Latvia. Travel is resuming. I am actually going to the USA for a longer time this summer. For the first time in 2 years, I’ll get to see my brother and my sister. My suitcase is going to have more gifts than anything else when I go!


Leave a comment